Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

We are finally getting some much needed rain tonight. Things have been so very dry here. Despite the dryness, or maybe because of it, my jalapeno peppers have been quite prolific. We’ve been drying them in batches to reconstitute when the the tomatoes finally ripen and we can make salsa. My cucumbers are also ready way ahead of salsa making. We did do a couple of batches of zucchini relish and a batch of hamburger dills for Joel. I’m really pleased with how well the garden is doing. I need to pull the zucchini plants before they bless me with more bounty to go with the more bounty I already don’t know WHAT to do with! Need to plant peas and broccoli soon, too.

The little kittens have been growing and growing. The runt, Tommy, was the first to figure out how to get out of the table cage (3 tables on their sides against a basement wall). Once they all figured out how to get out, we moved one of the tables, but left the cage mostly intact (to keep Luke from eating their food every morning – the same Luke that got upstairs and opened the tub with Catnip’s special food and ate half the tub!!!!. That dog will eat ANYTHING.

Now I have 6 half-pint-sized fur bombs terrorizing my basement. Oy, vey, the mess they have made in my sewing room. Not to mention the attack of fleas that went from the basement to the upstairs and the dear, fat Catnip. Countless bottles of flea & tick spray and many, many kitten baths later, I do believe we have them under control. And every time the dogs scratch I tell them to “Stop it!! Scratching makes me nervous.”  After every bath the kittens go into the powder room to dry off and stay clean. Upon opening the door the other day we discovered that the kittens had trashed it like a little rock’n’roll band! They played in the dogs’ water dish, got into the trash and tossed toilet paper rolls everywhere – apparently those are some particularly joyful toys to play with. I could not believe the mess those clean little bodies had left on the floor.

We are still trying to find homes for 3 of them before they’ll have to go to a rescue. Tommy Trouble and his look-alike sister, Tonya, are going to the horse barn to charm people and chase little mouses. Mozart (formerly, Matt’s Cat) is going to stay right here with us (so much for NOT KEEPING ANY OF THEM!).  The kids have pooled their money and are going to pay to vet and feed him. Sweet, fluffy, little thing with a contagious face, is going to compete with Luke, Lexi and Catnip.

Joel and Kurt made it to Tennessee and back with our new tractor – and the manure pile is gone!! And Joel cleaned out the cow stalls, too. Last night he went and bought a trailer so that the tractor can go traveling to make hay! After we buy hay equipment, of course.

We are headed off to The Mitten soon for a long weekend and a family wedding. It will be nice to get away for a bit before school starts back up (on the 22nd!!!!!AAAAUUUUGGHGHGH). It’s supposed to rain the day we’re planning to go to St. Joe and shop and stare at the beach. Y’know how that really translates? IT’S GOING TO BE HOT AND MUGGIER THAN BLAZES, FLETCHER, SO DON’T EVEN BOTHER TO PUT ON MAKE-UP AND TRY TO LOOK NICE. YOU’RE GOING TO LOOK LIKE A SWEAT SOAKED FRUMP!! But I’m going anyway – it’s the rebel in me. And Grandma always buys Kilwin’s ice cream for us.

And That’s What’s Been Happening on the Hobby Farm!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

