Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I think I’ve said before that life on the farm is never dull.  Case in point is that the month of April was a complete blur: Kristen and I went to Zones to support the middle school team and handle horses and then it was Kurt’s birthday and my father-in-law passed away. Hubby was gone for a weekend and we had to figure the logistics to feed the farm and board the dogs (plus a kennel shot that cost me $60!)  while we were gone. In a really sweet gesture Kristen and her oldest female cousin were asked to be pall bearers. The girls did a fine job.  Then we came home and I left for Georgia to pick up my Mom and while I was gone Kristen went to Nationals to support the middle schoolers (again) and to help handle horses – she got to camp at the Kentucky Horse Park with one of her teammates and they had the GREATEST time! My Dad came to pick up my Mom and they stayed for a week and then literally April was over. In a flash. In a blink. The family survived without the two cooks and Joel even got Kurt to his orthodontist appointment on time – wow!

May has been cruising right along too. Our anniversary was the 2nd – 24 years! – and of course Mother’s Day. We sent my mother-in-law a beautiful bouquet of flowers in an old-fashioned roses teacup planter. She was very surprised and pleased by the extra attention.

The official end of our school year is this Friday. The actual end will be sometime in August right before we start back up again. Kurt saved all of his English papers to write during summer school. Hmmm, since when does he have summer school and since when does he get to make those decisions? Probably since Mom is still struggling to stay on top of the school instead of buried under it. It will be nice to be a bit more relaxed (like I’m not already!)  The girls and I are kicking off summer with a trip to IKEA on Saturday. I’m planning to come home with NINE spice racks!

I’m desperately trying to get my garden beds made over so that I can have Hubby till things up and I can get the rest of the garden planted. Of the 20 tomato children we started, we have 15 left. I killed all of the hot pepper plants, so I’ll have to buy them this weekend. I wanted seeds in the ground for squash and corn and cucumbers a week ago (of course, we had several freezes a week ago), but that sure didn’t happen. It will be nice to have the garden done. Joel strung chicken wire around the bottom of the wobbling fence and the chickens are finally staying out of the garden. They killed two of the tomato children; I’m not sure what happened to the other three. Oh, well, I’m sure I’ll buy a couple of tomato plants too :p

Now that you’re all caught up, I’ll sign off and start a new post. Wait till you see what Kristen did!

And That’s What’s Been Happening on the Hobby Farm!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

