Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Finally a DIM to Share!

I’m not sure I’m going to call it a success – it was a royal pain in the rear end!!!

It all started with my cute little sewing bag that is really being used to corral my knitting projects.

IMG_1285

IMG_1286

Isn’t it the cutest?  If your observant you’ll notice that it matches the cover on my ironing board.  Of course now that the new sewing room is up, the ironing board is in the laundry room and we’re using a pressing mat for sewing.  Of course the knitting bag is in the living room, so even though they match, they’re not in the same room where you can see it.

After this darling (but difficult to put together) bag was done, Kristen wanted one for a show bag – except with the pockets inside.  Okay, that shouldn’t be too difficult, we’ll just make it and turn it inside out.  WRONG!!!  She wanted a contrasting bottom, so we couldn’t use the lining as the outside.  OK, we’ll just make two outsides and leave the pockets off of one.  WRONG!!!  First I ironed the super thick interfacing onto the pieces that were supposed to be the outside instead of the pieces that would be the inside.  Pulled that off, but stretched the fabric a bit.  We were cutting it super close on the fabric as it was, so I didn’t have margin for ANY errors.  Got that mess straightened out.  Put the inside together with the pockets and it looked beautiful.  Where we had to use brown fabric for the inside pockets, the green and brown went really well together.

IMG_1283

The green is actually a very dark green, but the lighting in the laundry room and the flash make it look very bright.

Then I made the outside and put it all together.  Except the sides didn’t meet at the bottom.  So, I added another piece of fabric.  And then it was 4″ too tall!!!!  Well, good grief.  And the super stiff interfacing makes it very difficult to line up corners and edges.  Ugh!!  So, I decided that I would just fold over the excess at the top and maybe it would have a cute little cuff to fold down.  Nope, that won’t work, it would be sown together right through the velcro (that I had already had to move).  So, after folding down 3″ I had to jiggle it all down so that the tops lined up.  I was in a hair’s breadth of running out of brown thread, but made it by the skin of my teeth!

Now it was all put together.  And after breaking my arms to get it ironed and a top stitching put on – I had to make a tuck in the outside down by the bottom to take up the excess fabric that was still there!  I have officially retired this pattern.  I’m glad that I have my knitting bag and I’m glad that Kristen has her show bag, but I am so sorely disappointed in my workmanship.  I do however understand perfectly why they made the pattern exactly the way they did!  Amazing the things you learn when you try to re-do someone else’s idea.

IMG_1282

The completed brown bag with a barely visible contrasting bottom.  (Notice my black and white ironing board cover?!)

IMG_1284

And filled to the brim (and heavy) with all of her hair stuff and jewelry and make-up and extra spurs and boots and whatever else it is that she carries.  And no, the brown thing with the eyeball is NOT a fish head – which is exactly what I thought when I first saw the picture.  It’s actually a spur strap.  But gosh, it looks like a fish head.

And That’s What I Did Myself on the Hobby Farm.

Comments on: "Finally a DIM to Share!" (3)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

