Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Oh, It Finally Snowed . . .

(And Luke smells like a wet manure dog.)  Ugh.  Hold your breath!   I made the kids take the dogs out in the snow and just romp around.  Very successful as one kid and two dogs are now sound asleep.

Finally, on the 12th day of January half way through the winter of 2015-2016, we FINALLY got snow!  Yes, while my furnace still isn’t working because I decided not to be the most defiant wife.  I called him Monday morning and said I’d compromise – we brought in the ceramic heater and the propane from the grill, I ordered the new thermostat (which still hasn’t shipped yet) and bought an electric fireplace/heater (ulterior motive here; it’s eventual home is the new sewing room 😀 😀 ).  The house isn’t so cold you stay huddled under a blanket, but it’s not cozy warm either.  Up to 61* last night!!  Kristen has fallen in love with the little fireplace and it’s flickering flame and is now on my side for getting a much larger one.  Our house was MADE for a fireplace – it’s past time we added one.

But it snowed today!  Kristen is so right; snow makes the cold tolerable.  And it’s so pretty to look at.  It’s so fun to watch the kittens try to catch the snow flakes (it’s also good to see Sage putting some weight on her foot that the big bad cow stepped on.)  Speaking of the barn kittens, now it was kind of Sage’s fault she got stepped on.  I told her and told her not to hang out under the cow while I milked, but you know kids, they just don’t listen.  She sure listened when SugarBelle picked her foot up and came down on Sage’s little, tiny, cute kitten paw!  My heart just about stopped.  Sage keeps pretty clear of the milk production now.  Rosemary on the other hand is an adventurer.  She’s discovered that she can climb up and into the barn eaves where the little birdies hide.  She usually meows at us that she wants down and I tell her that she got up there, she can figure out how to get down (saw her above the big sliding doors on the cow stalls this morning) and she usually does.  Well, this morning she decided that she was coming down one way or another and all she needed was an in-between landing spot.  Hmmm, that big black thing should work.  Down came Rosemary right onto Sugar’s back.  Sugar started to twitch and move and Rosemary was gone!  I guess Sage passed along some words of advice when it comes to the cow!

Since it’s a snowy day and we already had made plans for it, Kristen and I headed to town to get her learner’s permit.  She passed first try and we headed over to the Cheese House for Karra to scoop up some ice cream.  I had told Kris that she could drive over when she got her permit, but in light of the snowy roads and being in the new van, we had to veto that.  No driving the new van on anything but pristine road conditions.  IF we had been in the old van, she would have driven.  No time like the present to learn!  Right now the new student driver is sleeping in front of the “fireplace” instead of doing the school she missed yesterday and today.   Hmmm, better wake her up.  And I should get to the laundry (in the freezing cold and not warming up very well with my sewing room heater laundry room).  It wouldn’t hurt to get away from wet manure dog either.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Hobby Farm!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

