Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Graduation

I don’t think I’ll go so far as to say that I survived (I’m still completely exhausted and immobile), but we had a wonderful time with Karra’s graduation and party and everyone has declared it a smashing success.

It was a long haul this past two weeks to get the yard and farm looking like a nicely manicured homestead.  The front door and downstairs bath never got painted and only the door trim on the deck doors got painted, but the house was clean – even the carpet.  Let me tell ya ’bout the carpet.

Wednesday night the family took off for church and I moved furniture and vacuumed and prepared the carpet shampooer to do it’s job.  Starting at the point farthest from the worst of the stains, I set to work.  Wow there is a LOT of soap coming out of that carpet, I thinks to myself.  Hmmm, why is there soap going out when I’m not pulling the trigger?  But the small area by the door where Lexi had had diarrhea was sure looking clean.  Wow, that went through a hole reservoir of soap.  So I refilled the soap container and put it on the machine and then took the water container to refill.  All set to go back to work and I moved the machine to find a big white spot under it.  Well, that sure looks clean, I thinks to myself.  Holy Cow!!  The soap reservoir was empty!!!!!!!!  It leaked the whole thing onto one already pretty clean spot on the carpet.  Now what do I do?

Panic quickly ensued.  What do I do?  I have to get this carpet cleaned!!  Ah hah!  Eden Clean to the rescue!!  I called my friend that has a cleaning business (she just happened to have had a new baby a month ago, but oh well).  Can your husband come and clean my carpet tomorrow or Friday?  I’m so desparate – my shampooer died and Karra’s graduation is Satureday – the dogs have totally trashed my carpet and I don’t know what to do!!!  All of this to a voice mail.  I waited two minutes then texted her husband with the same message.  I waited two minutes then called my BFF for sympathy.  She is the best BFF in the whole world!!  Not only did she tell me on Tuesday that she didn’t see any cobwebs on my ceiling, she told me on Wednesday night in the middle of my panic that my carpet (covered with doggie stains) really didn’t look that bad.  What an awesome friend!  While I’m on the phone with her, my friend calls me back and says “Oh, yeah, my husband can come tomorrow morning!”  Oh, good friends are the best!!  He came on Thursday morning, made all of the stains go away, tried one of the graduation cupcakes that Kristen was baking and forgot one of the hoses to his machine because I was giving him a farm tour – 🙂  I took the hose to them when I went out to grocery shop and got to hold their tiny little new baby!  Aw.  I think I’m like my Aunt Connie – I just can’t get enough of holding babies.

Friday was Kurt’s last day of drama camp and his performance.  I was running errands for the 5th day in a row when my parents arrived.  By the time I got home I was an angry exhausted woman.  After going to fetch Kurt I came home and took a nap.  I was a new person for the performance Friday night.  As usual the kids pulled off a funny and entertaining performance after only a week of practice.  It was a lot of fun and we had 6 family members along for the laughs!

Saturday dawned cool, overcast and windy.  Not a good sign for an afternoon party.  The girls decorated the fence and gate and I put up the front door sign.  Karra dove into my BFF’s box of decorations and made the house look lovely.  I kept coming out of my sewing room with a new decoration or something I’d made and she was duly impressed by my creativity.  She even said she had no idea her mom was so creative! (Pat me on the back)  We were all decorated and ready to go by 10:30.  By the time my extra helpers came, there wasn’t much left to do.  By two o’clock the sun was coming out, the wind had died down and I had a house and deck full of people.  We started our ceremony at 2:15 and were done in ten minutes.  Karra’s speech was funny, I didn’t cry and everyone enjoyed the food and fun.  The kids (Kristen and her friends) played badminton and my BFF’s husband and twins and some other folks played corn hole.  Uncle Gray Shirt, bless his heart, made us our own corn hole boards just for the party.

I’ll hush now and share some pictures.

IMG_1070

Here they are – all of those first day of pictures.  When my Mom showed up with 1st day of dance and 1st day of 1st grade pictures,  I had to scrounge for 1st day of kindergarten picture.  It was easier to find than I thought it would be.  From 4 year-old dimples to pointe shoes in 10 years.  Oh my gosh, how the time flew by.

IMG_1072

The newly remodeled school room with a table moved back in.

IMG_1077

 

The view from the front door.

IMG_1079

A close up of the “presentation table”. The paper was her outline of the day’s activities.  Complete with the Belmont Stakes at 6pm.

IMG_1069

The words on the front door are her exact quote of the words she said we could put on a banner on the front gate.  I found a banner that said Congratulations! and then had decals to put her name on, so I went with that for the front gate.  I had planned to do a magnet-board type thing at the gate, so I just taped them to the front door and added the hats from the decorations box.  She loved it.  I still can’t believe I surprised her with my creativity.

And at last – the very end of the post – the Valedictorian of her graduation class of 2015!

IMG_1084

And That is What’s Been Happening in the Homeschool and on the Hobby Farm!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

