Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Not the Update I Wanted

We have been so busy lately.  This past weekend was the first one I’ve spent at home all month – the first weekend without a horse show.  It was fun, but I was ready for being home.  I have pictures and they are awesome and stories and they are amazing!  And I wanted to post them today!

But today didn’t turn out to be a happy blogging kind of day.

We finished lambing season with 7 babies: twins, two singles and triplets.  The twins have been on bottles and of course we got attached to them.  Yesterday Tipsy wasn’t taking his bottles and was getting bloated.  We took him to the vet for an ultrasound that showed some gas, but not intestinal blockage.  He took some half bottles, but still didn’t poop.  Another ultrasound and the gas and build up were very obvious.  Something was blocking his ability to poop.  The choices were surgery or sleep.  We had to put him down.  It was so hard.  It’s been two years since we lost a lamb and we thought we had cleared the hurdles this year.  It’s been tough.  Kristen has shed so many tears today.  Her friends have been the greatest and so encouraging and supportive.  Little Tina is a bit lost without her brother.  I’m hoping that she’ll get into the pen with the other sheep and cuddle up with Daisy’s baby, Misty.

I’ll try to get the horse show pictures together (most of them are on my phone) this week.  Next week is spring break, but I’m booked for half of it with Kurt’s birthday and the Midwest Homeschool Convention.

As I encouraged Kristen this afternoon, she had plenty of ‘whys’ running around inside of her.  It’s so easy to ask why.   Why him?  Why us again?  What did he do, he’s just a baby?  Why would God let this happen?  I honestly had such peace today.  I haven’t cried a single tear.  I had to encourage Kristen to just keep trusting God.  We don’t understand how this could possible work together for good.  We don’t see His big picture.  If it hurt us so much to see an innocent animal suffer and die, how must it break God’s heart when an innocent child is ripped from its mother’s womb – the place He created to knit that child together?

We are fearfully and wonderfully made.  ALL of God’s creation is fearfully and wonderfully made.  We have been given such a privilege to love His creatures, to nurture and care and steward His creation.  I am so blessed to love these animals.  I am so blessed to love my children.

Thanks for listening to our happenings and my reflections.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

