Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Happy New Year! 2015

Hey, I got the day right on time!  I hope everyone has had a good celebration.  We’re taking it pretty low key today.  We’ll take down the Christmas decorations and do a good dusting.  I’ll have to wash the white glass collection above the stove – it gets very nasty greasy and dusty in the course of the year (and maybe someday I’ll wash everything twice a year, but this isn’t someday!).  I have a ham to put in the oven later and I’ll make scalloped potatoes and peas.  I even made a breakfast casserole this morning only to discover that someone spilled something greasy in the bottom of the oven and didn’t clean it up – can anyone say “smoke filled house?”

I’m very pleased to say that I have already taken 2 projects completely off of the 2015 sewing/craft list and have 2 more in progress.  Those gray Spiderman sleep pants that I couldn’t do for Karra turned out really cute for Kurt and I still had to put red cuffs on the bottom of them!

I set out to make over a filing cabinet that was collecting dust in the basement and after looking at pictures on pinterest I decided to decorate it a little.  That decision (and running out of primer) turned it into a cost-something project instead of a completely free with what I have make over.  I found a perfect peel and stick laminate on line and went through a lengthy rant against Walmart when I couldn’t get it (I will NOT share said rant because I chose to leave it and the anger behind me in 2014).  Yesterday I set out to find a less expensive (than $5.87) alternative.  $4 in scrapbook paper later, I have two choices and I’m struggling to decide which paper to use.  I also had to buy a protective sealant to put on the finished project, but I’m still very excited.  I also found woven bins to put inside the drawers to make it into a cabinet rather than a filing system.  And those were 50% off ( a two-for-one deal) and they match a basket I have in the living room to keep my knitting & stitching projects in.  I am so excited to share the project with you when it’s done!  And since we’ve exceeded our Excede it will be mid month before I can upload pictures anyway and I figure another week or so to get the cabinet finished.

It is Arctic cold here for a few days, but we might actually see some snow on Sunday.  We’ll see.  I will however welcome the warmer weather on Saturday and the rain that will fill the water troughs for me!

Have a blessed day celebrating today and if you’re a lucky one that has pay TV and can enjoy the Bowl Games, cheer a few for me – ROLL TIDE!!

And That’s What’s Happening on the Hobby Farm.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

