Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

With a good football game on to boot!

What a beautiful fall day.   Of course, it’s October cold instead of September warm, but it is a nice crisp day.

I haven’t done any spectacular to report on in the last couple of weeks.  I did pick up a free cabinet that Kristen and I are going to paint and use to store canned goods and canning supplies in the basement.  I cleaned it up this past week, but now it needs to be sanded before I can repaint and then it will be a new surface for Kristen and her paint brush.  I was pretty excited to pick it up for free off of craigslist.

We’re hoping we have a buyer for the sheep this week.  He emailed yesterday but I haven’t heard back.  We really want to see Joy and Stormie go for breeding and not for someone’s feast – I’ve had a couple of calls from people with heavy accents (how do you say that without sounding prejudiced?), but it would break my heart to know they were butchered.  Fortunately, I’ve been able to say that I have a sale pending – thank you, God!

We picked apples on Friday and got 1 1/2 bushels of drops for the price of a 1/2 bushel picked off the tree.  I was doing some math for my homesteader ladies and last year the drops that became applesauce saved me as follows:  applesauce in the little cups runs around $1.88 (last time I bought it) and I’d buy 6 pkgs. a month. $11.28/month x 12 = $125.36.    I saved on applesauce last year – $125.36 –  $24 for the 4 oz. jars I invested in  = $101.36.  This year my Mom has given me another dozen jars, so the savings will be even more significant.  Of course, it’s a lot of work to do all of those batches of applesauce.

The girls came home from the barn on Friday with a 50# feed bag full of sweet corn that the trainer had given us.  Sweet corn is something I just didn’t have the resources for this year and now I’ll still be able to put some in the freezer!

Did I mention that we butchered our old chickens?  I didn’t cry and Sarah will be commemorated with a plaque naming the new chicken coop for her.  We boiled up the carcasses and got 25 1/2 cups of chicken stock and 10 cups of usable meat.  The meat was really tender.  We used 4 cups of the meat in a pot pie and it was very tasty.  I’m going to BBQ some of it too.

I only got 11 pints of pears from our tree.  A lot of the pears were tiny or too full of bugs and bad spots, so the chickens got quite the feast from them.  They’ve also been getting quite the feast from my garden.  The old girls never tried to squeeze through the fence into the garden, but these gals go right through the holes and eat my green tomatoes!!  I chase them around with a stick and have to climb on the compost to finally get them out.  I may have to do something much different with my garden fence.

I went through a nightmare trying to download my much raved about Ultimate Healthy Living Bundle.  We’re on super slow internet so I got up Thursday night to download and the link wouldn’t work.  I emailed and tried again Friday night with no luck.  I emailed customer service again and she sent me a new link since they had reports of problems with satellite connections not working.  Up AGAIN last night (have I ever mentioned that I like to sleep all night?) and the new link worked.  I downloaded everything including two videos on using herbs.  Today I ordered the bonus freebies that interested me and signed up for two ecourses.  I have lots of reading to do and I’m excited about it.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Hobby Farm.

Comments on: "Sunny and Cool Sunday Afternoon" (2)

  1. Hey! I nominated you for The One Lovely Blog Award…check out the details here…http://journeytotheson.wordpress.com/

    • Oh, you’re so sweet, thank you! I’m not sure if I can follow all of the rules, but I will give it a try – but not now. We’re expecting someone to look at Joy and it may not be the happy ending we had hoped for for our first baby. Waaaaaaaaaah!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

