Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Just a Quickie

My Mom periodically sends me coupons in the mail that she has clipped from the local Sunday paper.   I have gotten dozens and dozens of notes over the years that started out, “Just a quickie . .  .” (usually trying to get the coupons to me before they expire!).  So, this morning I have “just a quickie” for ya.

Our rounds of college visits are over and now I have to convince her to go where I think she should instead of where her heart is set.  Oh yeah, it’s her life, Mom, not yours!  I have truly enjoyed and cherished the time spent with Karra on our cross-state tours.  The memories of sweltering and too long campus tours and the Sonic we shouldn’t have eaten, but did and regretted and then did again!!  For some reason she is more bothered by that foot long chili dog than I was – oh, was it good!!!  And all of the times we got lost – including yesterday WITH the Navi System!!  That was the machine’s fault because she told me to turn left at the second road but there was no FIRST road!!!  We just drove in circles on campus a couple of times before we got onto the right road and out of town.  I love that mechanism 🙂

Today I’m frantically trying to can peaches, make salsa, shred zucchini (and make bread to replace the two we gave away), freeze zucchini, feed some old summer squash to the chickens while I dream of fried summer squash to devour myself, try to decide whether to make more pickle relish or make sweet pickles with the cucumbers that Kurt isn’t devouring, cleaning and preparing for Life Group and trying not to kick myself for planning a trip to Michigan right when the tomatoes are ripe and we only have a handful of days left until school starts.  I think I’ll sleep the whole time at my Mom’s!

I did manage to get my carpet shampooed (and Lexi promptly re-soiled it two nights in a row) and have been working on two DIMS Day projects.  I have to finish my part of the pantry door, which translates into finding whatever I did with the blue painters tape, but Kristen’s part of the project turned out gorgeous.  It’s exactly what I wanted and I smile everytime I look at it.  The other project is gifts so it will have to wait until September to be posted – along with Karra’s bedroom curtain update that is taking much longer than expected.  Who would have thought that a valance could be so much trouble?

Well, my “quickie” has gotten long and I need to hit the treadmill – now in the basement where I can use it early in the morning without disturbing a sleeping husband.  I have a peach crisp in the oven and the pork loin in the crockpot simmering away into carnitas that will be barbecued for tonight’s Life Group – wish ya’ll could come and share the food and fellowship.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Hobby Farm!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

