Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I’m inspiring myself. I’m encouraging myself. I’m even scaring myself!

I’m adding a new category to my blog: DIMS – Did It Myself Successes. Anybody can have a DIY category; I need to be different 🙂

Kristen and I stopped at a garage sale after I tried to drop her off at the barn yesterday but no one had texted to tell her she didn’t need to come – grrr. So, we stopped at a barn sale. Oh, they had good stuff and they gentleman said they had had a LOT more the day before. We hemmed and hawed over a wooden bed frame that turned out to have been sold. We considered an ax for Joel, but decided against it. We went back to the first thing I’d looked at – an old wooden chair. It’s one of those chairs that conforms to your body and is so comfy to sit in. It’s brown and rustic looking and will go well in Kristen’s horsey bedroom, so I bought it for her.

IMG_0700

IMG_0699
And after she cleaned the dust and cobwebs off and rubbed it with bamboo oil it is absolutely gorgeous!! I wish I could have gotten 6 of them.

IMG_0705 IMG_0706

But we weren’t done for the day!

We had to get roosts into the new chicken coop, so I looked at my pinterest board and studied and then we went out to the barn and grabbed the leftover 2x4s and had Joel screw them in. We’re really happy with how the corner turned out.
IMG_0707

IMG_0708
Then we had to come up with a ladder because the roosts are just a little bit too high to fly up to (though we did find two of the barred rock hens up there by themselves). Back to pinterest until I decided that this can’t be as hard as we’re making it.
One 8×1 piece of plywood cut from the new barn door and a a left over 1×4 and we went to work. Out came my cute little sawsall (that I just realized I left in the barn all night!) and Kristen found a handsaw. We cut 7 pieces from the board, I hammered and pulled to get the little nails out of it and then we measured.
I used a circular saw for the first time in my life (that was the scary part) and cut 3 feet off the plywood. We screwed the little boards on and then had Joel screw the big board to the back roost.
Success!!!
IMG_0710

IMG_0709
(Sorry, those pictures are a little dark.  I wanted to get them online quick and didn’t take time to play with them 😦 )

Kristen did notice that the girls are having a hard time getting from one rung to the next and that could be that they are still small, or we need to add some smaller rungs in between. We shall see.

I’m so excited to share our first DIMS with you!! And I can’t wait to show off the pantry door that we still haven’t gotten started.

Happy DIMS Day!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

