Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I Forgot About the Chickens

Kristen and I took Kurt to his camp out Friday evening and then decided to splurge on grease for supper.  We had just sat down to enjoy our Long John Silver’s fish and chicken platter when my phone rang.   A voice said, “I’m a terrible person.”   I said, “What?  Karra?  What did you say?”   The voice said, “I’m a terrible person.  I forgot about the chickens and I let Luke outside.  There’s a chicken laying in the yard.”  I tried to stay calm and ask questions, but all of the chickens look the same to my non-farm girl.   We sadly finished our dinner and ran our errands the whole time thinking, ‘please don’t let it be Sarah.’

Sarah is the wonderful chicken.  She runs to greet us and squats down to have her feathers petted.  She just likes people.

We got home just after Joel and he tried to break the news.  He’d put the chicken in the coop, but she was just sitting in the nest box.  She was alive?   Karra had made it sound like the chicken was flopped over dead!  We got a light and sure enough, it was our Sarah.  She didn’t want to stand up and just layed in the box.  We left her there over night and I figured if she made it through the night we’d see what we could do.  My hens are 5 years old and really need to be replaced as layers, but I didn’t want to lose one this way.

Sarah made it through the night, so we brought her into the laundry room for the day on Saturday.  Kristen gave her some food and water and dipped her beak in the water.  She started drinking like she hadn’t seen water in days!   She had perked up enough last night that we took her outside.  She walked around a little on her own, then layed down on the cement and fell asleep.  She woke up and layed an egg!  I didn’t think she’d ever lay another egg again in her life!  She followed the other hens to the coop at bedtime, but someone pecked at her so Joel kept her outside of the run.  After dark we put her in the coop.  This morning, she was standing up and moving around better.  We separated her from the rest of the girls while we went to church, but when we came home there she was acting like Sarah!  All recovered.

We’re so grateful for more time with our favorite chicken.  She’s the one that will live out her life at the Happy Palace.  And we will all be more conscious of the chickens before we let the dog out!!

And That’s What’s Happening on the Hobby Farm 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

