Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Humor is Important

That’s what Joel said last night.  I’m sure he’ll find today quite amusing.

I dropped the girls at the barn at 11am and Kurt & I went to TSC with Luke.  Luke loves to pull through the store & smell all the smells & sniff all the sniffs.  Before I know it, Kurt is on his belly being pulled through the store.  LOL moment.  I grabbed the dog & handed Kurt my purse & the book I was buying (Homestead in Your Backyard  Did you know that on 1/4 of an acre, you can harvest:  1,400 eggs (unless you have an egg eater like I do, then you’ll lose one a day), 50 lbs. of wheat, 60 lbs. of fruit, 2,000 lbs. of vegetables, 280 lbs. of pork, and 75 lbs. of nuts!!  I find these kinds of books fascinating!).  So we check out & get Luke, Kurt & the book into the van.  Stopped at Kroger for a handful of things & new phone cards.  Leave the boy & his dog in the car.  Kroger is packed to the rafters!!!   Get the groceries, self check – forgot the phone cards.  Oh, well, we’ll just live through the weekend.  Get several calls from a friend, keep getting cut off, phone time gone.

Decided to take Luke with us to the barn for riding lesson.  He needs to learn not to bark at horses & he’ll never learn unless we take him to horses.  We get there & out back there  is a horse running around & then I see another one rearing up.  Karra comes out to the car while we’re trying to get a hand on Luke so Kurt can get out of the car.  Luke sees horses & starts barking.  Karra tells me that R got thrown & all the horses are acting crazy.  Get the car windows up on the van; Luke is jumping around.  Horses get caught & settled down.   The kids go get their horses ready.  I take Luke out of the car & try to walk him around & work on “quiet”.  He starts to do really, really well.  So, we sat outside & watched the kids ride & Luke did extremely well at staying quiet.  He wanted to knock L over when she came to say hi. 

Lesson over, walk Luke a little more, still have a treat left.  Get in the car & grab my water bottle which is lying in my purse.  Nothing unusual about that.  Highly unusual that the cap is off & a whole water bottle is now drenching the entire contents of my purse!!!  The beautiful, plaid Chaps brand purse that I got a terrific price on is now mostly likely ruined with a huge water mark – grrrrr.  Somewhere in all of the excitement & confusion I didn’t get the cap on the water bottle & Luke knocked it over.  Who do you blame?  Not REALLY anyone’s fault.  Accidents happen.

Came home & the cow was lying funny in the pasture.  I went & scooted the chickens out of the pasture (found an eaten egg) and went to check on Sugar.  She stood up & let my touch her.  I walked back to the barn & yelled at Kristen to fill the water trough.  She hauled the hose over while I herded more chickens.  The water came through the hose & pulled it up in the trough.  I walked over to grab it & push it back into the water & it jumped out of the trough & drenched me.   I WAS NOT A HAPPY HOMESTEADER  at that moment.  Kristen got a not so deserved yelling at.

Back in the house I sorted through the contents of my swimming pool . . . I mean, purse . . . and threw out some pictures & coupons.  My medical release for my foot was in my soaked planner – ink now runs.  A coupon for a free drink at Cosi – bleeding ink.  2 coupons for Kurt’s pictures to be taken on Monday – bled & bleeding beyond repair.  Money, credit cards, loyalty cards, everything drenched.  The ton of pictures of the kids that I carry around all wet & sticking together.  Peeled them apart and had to toss 3 or 4.  Getting very irritated.

The humor in all of this??????  Kurt getting drug through the store by the dog – wish I had a picture of that.  And me in my black & white White Sox get up hopping around the pasture after I got blasted by the hose.  Too bad I didn’t see that one.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

