Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Spaghetti Dinner

I like to fix spaghetti for dinner when we need a really quick something – or my brain is dead when it comes to food options (happens WAY more often than I’d like it to).  We love to have Texas Toast to go with our spaghetti, but it gets pricey to buy.  So, I thought we’d just try to make our own bread sticks.  I had a recipe from the Hillbilly Housewife that we tried a few times, but it used a whole stick of butter, wasn’t very garlicky & always tasted a little floury.  So, I had some extra time on Friday & thought that I’d try another recipe in my box that used yeast and could be made in my bread machine.  Oh, my, my, my, my!!  I don’t know the person’s name, but I got the recipe from Homesteading Today back in 2008.  It is fantastic!  I had two pieces of dough that didn’t fit on my cookie sheet, so I rounded them out & made hamburger buns.  Kurt declared them awesome hamburger buns – you could taste the ham & the bread.  (Apparently that is a very good thing to my little guy).  So, I shall share the recipe without further chit chat.

Soft & Fast Breadsticks

1 cu warm water

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup oil

2 1/2 cups bread flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (can use all bread flour if you prefer)

2 1/2 teaspoons yeast

Put everything in order in the bread machine.  Set to dough cycle.  Let rise in the machine.  Take out and pat into a semi-long rectangle (about 9×11).  Take a pizza cutter and slice lengthwise into 7 or 8 strips (or, you can cut in half and double the amount – this is what I did).  Take one strip at a time and twist a bit before laying on a greased cookie sheet.  Repeat process with the rest of the strips placing them an inch away from each other on the cookie sheet.  Cover and let rise.  At this point, I brush with melted butter and sprinkle with garlic salt ( I also did a light sprinkle of garlic powder & when they were done, I sprinkled with parmesan cheese).  Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.

*Can also add basil, oregano, parsley, and garlic powder to the bread machine.

**I have also used the dough recipe to make hamburger buns.  When you take the dough out of the machine, roll it out to about 1/2-3/4 inch thick.  Cut with a biscuit cutter or a large glass.  Place on greased cookie sheets.  Cover and let rise.  After they have risen, brush with egg wash (one egg beaten with 1 Tbls. water).  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

This recipe is so easy & gave the most awesome results.  I can’t wait to make my own hamburger buns to go with all of that Molly burger in my freezer!

That’s what’s cooking Over the Electic Flame!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

