Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Molly Burger

Well, we did it.  We sent my milk cow to freezer camp.  She came home yesterday as 12 roasts, 64 steaks, and 96 lbs. of ground beef.  It almost fills our small chest freezer.

Now, so that you don’t despair, we still have MollyBelle’s darling baby, SugarBelle.  Kristen has been taking very good care of her for me while I”m layed up with this foot.  We have decided that if milking Sugar doesn’t workout for us, that we’ll sell her and just buy a feeder calf each year and send it off to camp in the late fall.  After Joel finishes my barn this summer we will look around for some sheep or goats.  And there will be new chickens this year – with a new coop & a rooster.  I’m hoping that the rooster will discourage Luke  from paying attention to the chickens.  Kristen said he scared one right out of the run last week & had his mouth on her neck.  At least he has a soft mouth (being part retriever) unlike Hunter who was part sheep with teeth!

Speaking of Hunter, he’s sadly been rehomed again.  He kept digging out under their fence & then encouraging their other dog to go for a run with him.  As far as I know they gave him to someone they know.  I’m hoping that he now has the room to run that he needs as well as other dogs to play with.  I have been told that our friends dog misses Hunter terribly 😦

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

