Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I’ve been fighting with Hunter the last few days.  I took him to the Canine Training Center & of course he turns out to be distracted/happy-go-lucky, basically strong-willed with ADD.  Wrong temperment for first time dog owners.  I can’t afford their $700 one week in-house boot camp for him.  We have stopped all treats as a reward for doing what we ask (he was starting to bite if we didn’t have a treat for him).  He has a choke chain & I’m to use it VERY firmly.  His high pain tolerance amazed the trainer. 

I called them yesterday after a bad morning & a big cry session.  I asked God why He gave us this dog.  We had prayed that we would get the right dog for us.  God’s answer?  “Because you’ll love him.”  I heard it 3 times.  OK  So maybe the next person on the list would have beat him half to death by now.  Today I’m in tears because I never wanted a dog in the first place & now I have a dog that I love with my whole heart and don’t know what to do with.  I called the trainer this afternoon to ask what I’m supposed to do when Hunter starts to snarl & growl at me?  He’s jumping, snarling & growling.  She said it’s a test of wills that I have to win.  I have a rebellious teenager.  I will say this:  the snarling match this afternoon was shorter than the one this morning.  So frustrating!

There are two things God showed me in my frustration with the dog.  Yesterday when He told me that I would love this dog, He brought to mind Joel’s nephew J – back in Juvenile Hall for violating his probation.  He was growing marijuana under his sister’s bed when Kristen was there in July.  How many times have they asked, “how did we get this kid?”   And I know God’s answer has been “because you’ll love him”; he’s in our family because we’ll pray for him.

Second, today I suddenly realized how Kristen feels.  We push her and press on her and expect so much from her and half the time she just doesn’t know what we want.  This relates to her school.  She struggles so hard.

Just like MollyBelle had a silver lining, I know that God has a silver lining in Hunter for our family.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

