Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

It’s a GIRL!!!

We are cow parents!  MollyBelle was indeed pregnant & gave birth to a beautiful, jet black heifer yesterday afternoon.

I had gone out to check the mail & noticed that Molly was lying down & eating.  Very unusual.  Then the more I looked at her, I realized there was something white sticking out of her rear.  I went, “Oh, my God, Molly you’re in labor!!”  Then I called the vet & told her you are coming out tomorrow (today) to check my heifer for pregnancy, but she’s  in labor!  The vet came an hour later & we had managed to herd Molly up to her stall (after I dug out the trench to get the door closed!).  The vet had to pull the calf because the front hooves weren’t stretched out & then her little hips got stuck in Molly’s little hips.

You can see the calf’s little nose.  Hope the pictures aren’t too graphic – I have more LOL!

I was so very grateful for our vet!  I’d never met her before, but she calmed me down on the phone & was so competent & calm through everything.  I got to be in the stall with Molly the whole time & held her against the stall wall while the vet & her son pulled the calf.  Molly even got an epidural!!  The girls watched, but Kurt decided he’d come back later!  It was incredible biology lab yesterday! 

Of course, being Tuesday we still had Life Group going on & Molly & Sugar had way too many visitors (and Karra enjoyed telling everyone that I was a real basket case – which I was.  I was still shaking 3 hours after the calf was born!).  The baby nursed within the first hour & we’ve seen her nurse several times since.  Molly is settling in quite well for still being a baby herself.  They are still in the stall, but I will be letting them out in an hour or so.  We’re still in shock around here.  Unbelievable!!  Molly would have been bred at 3 1/2 months.  Can you imagine??  I’m so, so, SO glad Joel didn’ t let me sell her.  Pastor’s word was spot on – God did indeed resurrect my dream!!

MollyBelle & SugarBelle this morning 6-8-11

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

