Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Lost Teeth

Oh, hello.  Loose any teeth lately?  Kurt finally pulled out his loose front tooth this morning.  It was starting to turn black & looked gross.  He sat & wiggled it while I read history and then in the middle of Johnny Tremain he started jumping around – he’d pulled it out.  Many minutes & two glasses of saltwater later, we finished our book.  He and Kristen ran outside to play for a few minutes after lunch & he came charging back in hollering about his tooth.  He’d hit himself in the mouth with his shovel handle & knocked a bottom front one out.  He didn’t think it was loose, but it was one I had noticed a few days ago.  The tooth fell off of his glove & is a lost, lost tooth, but he still gets credit for two in one day!

The kids wheelered around in the yard yesterday & made a muck & mess of the nice pristine snowscape.  They had a good time & did donuts & burnouts all over the front & back yards.  Molly got disturbed by the commotion & was doing her “mini cow olympics” in the pasture.  Joel spent a good deal of the day getting her water trough filled (he leaves the hose outside & it freezes & then needs to be thawed – I’ll be glad to have water in the workshop next winter and the all-weather hose will fit out the window & into the barn).  I cleaned a very full wheelbarrow of hay & manure from the stall & a pile I’d had to make outside of the stall because my buckets weren’t big enough to carry it all away.  So that is all cleaned up & I forked it into the compost.  My compost pile is sky high over the top of the chicken wire fence.  As soon as the ground can be pounded in the spring, I’ll be putting up a second compost bin for over the summer use.  It’s going to get a little stinky around my garden; I may need to re-think this location!

I caught myself thinking about garden seeds this morning.  I’m looking forward to planting seeds April 1st and hopefully working in the garden in April to get it ready for a mid-May planting.  In a dream situation I would have worked the garden in the fall to be all prepped for planting early lettuce & potatoes in April – but I don’t live in a dream. 

I’ve got to run.  We’re trying to re-structure our school day & I’ve got to get Toothless & his sister in to do their seatwork!

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

