Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

It’s picture perfect outside right now – the sky gently dropping big, fluffy, Christmas-card type snowflakes. We’re expecting 2-4″ through tonight. Glad it didn’t happen yesterday when Miss Molly got out.

I was going out to give her an evening feeding & saw her streak across the back of the property. I couldn’t believe it! I turned & ran for the front gate so she couldn’t get out on the road. The gates to the pasture were shut and I walked around the back of the stall & she had jumped through the fence outside her stall. I was stunned. The fence was torn from the post & actually broken. I don’t handle a crisis well, especially related to the animals. She kept running around the property & was quite disoriented at finding herself in an unfamiliar “pasture”. When I got close enough to look at her, the nose strap on her halter was across the center of her nose. No wonder she panicked. I couldn’t get close enough to undo the halter & take it off. By the time Kristen suggested a bucket of corn, Molly was foaming a little. She was still running everywhere like crazy. I was freaking out because there is no one next door or nearby that I could call to help. I got a bucket and got her to come through the side gate into her pasture. She couldn’t eat the corn and breathe at the same time so she kept backing out of the bucket & shaking her head. The next time she stuck her nose in the bucket I grabbed the strap & it slipped easily back up on her nose. I got her to her stall & finally got the door shut so she didn’t try the beat up fence again.

She must have gotten her halter caught on something and slid it down onto her nose. She managed to slip it off a couple of months ago & may have been trying again. Joel fixed the fence last night. He hadn’t stapled that part tightly since we intend to put a gate there eventually. It’s tight now.

Molly is just not endearing herself to me. We let her back out of the stall because she’s easier for me to clean up after and feed when I don’t have to have one eye on her back feet. She is not at all the sweet, easy tempered creature that Dexters were sold to me as. She’s flat out ornery!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

