Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Wow – Angels!

I know the blog-o-shpere is just dying to know how things are going around here.  Well, it’s the holiday season.  We entertained for Thanksgiving (always fun), went shopping on Black Friday (usually expensive, but did good this year), and just generally keeping Fletcher stressed out at all that she thinks needs to be done, but doesn’t really.  So, yesterday provided some fodder for the waiting masses of faithful Happy Palace readers.  Here you go:

So, yesterday morning, Kristen & I went out to be farm girls & tended the chickens & then went in to feed Molly & clean her stall. There was poop on the side of her water tub & sure enough when I stirred the water it was muddy. Ick! So, we had to bail out the tub & then carry it out of the stall and clean it.  Being the first snow of the season (a whopping 1/2 inch!), of course the garden hose was now frozen. We had to fire up the 4-wheeler, air up the tire on the cart & haul buckets of water from the kitchen to the trash can in the wheeler cart & then out to the barn on the 4-wheeler. We filled Molly’s water tub & she had thrown her hay all over the stall looking for corn in the bottom of the tub. Kristen laughed and said, “Oh, well, Mom, now you have something to blog about!”

The girls had a riding lesson yesterday, so I dropped them off & Kurt & I ran to Walmart to exchange the Christmas lights I’d bought in green instead of clear. Got back to the barn & left Kurt in the car because he was sick Monday night & his nose is all stuffy. I sat down and watched for about 5 minutes & the car alarm goes off – I have a habit of locking the kids in when I leave them in the car. I go out & get in the car with Kurt & he’s crying because he’d set off the alarm & got scared. He kept saying he wanted to go into the barn, so we did. I walked in & Karra looks at me and says, “Kristen fell off.” She said I turned white. In the 5 minutes I was in the car with Kurt, Kristen’s horse had gotten very playful with a horse that had been lunging in the round pen & he had bucked her off. She held on for the first two, but the third one threw her. She wasn’t hurt, thank God, but her shoulders are sore today. It shook her up pretty good, but after her instructor took her horse to task & rode him down, she got back on & trotted him around the ring. I said, “Hey, Kristen, now I have something to blog about!”   (No, she wasn’t terribly amused).
She kept saying on the way home, “Don’t tell Daddy, don’t tell Daddy” (afraid he’d make her quit), but the minute he walked in the door last night – “Guess what Daddy, I fell off my horse today!” I told him this morning that she got bucked off. The lesson horses are so calm, that it just had to be a fluke thing with the weather & the other horse acting up.

Today has been a much calmer day!

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

