Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

The Battle of the Birds

Well, I never thought I’d be glad to be sick, but . . .  yesterday as I lay in bed feeling miserable with the windows open to let in the fresh air, I could hear the chickens in the front yard yelling & squabbling.  They sounded angry, so I got up to see what I could see without my contacts.  Black blobs yelling & chasing each other.  And then one of the black blobs flew a little (higher than my chickens can manage).  I started yelling for Kristen to go outside.  Our not-so-friendly, neighborhood hawk had four of my chickens cornered under one of the pine trees in the front yard.  Our dear, Sarah Chicken was running at the hawk, flapping her wings and giving that intrusive meany a piece of her pea sized brain!  Of course, the hawk would flap back at her and dart after her & she’d go running, yelling, & squawking around the tree.  She was letting that hawk know in no uncertain terms that those were her sister chickens and he was not welcome to eat them!  The commotion that Kristen & I made scared the hawk away.  I suppose it’s just a matter of time unless Joel happens to be as good a shot as his brother (shot the hawk right off the chicken).  I hate to keep them penned up all week, but I don’t think I’m the one to shoot at the hawk.

I’m feeling better today and it turns out Joel had it too, and managed to go to work.  Kurt was still sick yesterday, but was able to keep his food down last night.  I think he’s more sick from not eating than from the stomach virus.  All he wants to eat right now is cucumbers!  I let him have a few last night (what’s the worst that could happen?), and they stayed down.

I have to visit the chiropracter this morning (I missed yesterday), and sanitize the house for Life Group.  I love the way life is constantly interfering with our schoolwork!  Oh, well, today is Hospitality day (yesterday was nursing and home ec).

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

