Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Up to My Muck Boots

Hello everyone. I know you’ve been waiting impatiently for me to post something – but first I have to go back in time and tell you about Kristen’s birthday (I realized that I’d never done that!).

When I got up on her birthday, I had no gift for her – nothing!  The new boots that were her big gift were on backorder.  I had two cards & two package that had come in the mail, but nothing from me.  So, I sat at the compter and made a poem from the letters in her name.  I tried to put a border around it, but couldn’t find anything horsey enough.  From the corner of my eye, I saw the word “watermark”, hey, maybe that would work.  I thought I’d put her name in the background of the poem in a pretty script, but then, the word “picture” caught my eye.  I put a picture of her with her bunny as the background for her poem (later in the day, the kids pointed out that I had left the T out of Kristen – easily fixed though!).  Then I put lots of stickers of her favorite things on a folder & put the poem inside.  Once again here was a birthday that I forgot to get a card – I am getting soooo terrible about that!   We had her birthday present opening & she was happy.  Later in the day her boots came!  (they turned out to be too big & I had to send them back to exchange, but they came on her birthday!).  Since we don’t have school on birthdays, I had extra time and finished her bedroom curtains.  She now has sunblocking, room darkening curtains and they were done on her birthday.  The Life Group flowers were for her and we made an Oreo cake for her to share on Tuesday at Life Group – it was a big hit & I’ve been hired for future birthdays!  She ended up having a nice birthday & received unexpectedly money that replaced what she had to spend on the bunny cage for Kurt’s rabbit with some left over.  I ended the day feeling like a better Mommy for having come up with a birthday gift!

And now:  On to the muck boots (which I don’t even own by the way, but now will need to purchase).  We have expanded the Hobby Farm – we put a deposit on a heifer last night.  She’s 4 months old and will be registered.  She’s a little black Dexter.   We found her on craigslist, and went to look at her last night.  The man was really nice & had talked to me a lot on the phone & talked a lot with us last night (old farmers love to tell stories!).  His cows run in the field, but they come for a treat when he calls them, and they were pretty calm for field cattle, we even went into the field with them, bull and all.  The bull eyeballed us pretty hard for being out there with “his family”, but he wasn’t threatening.  Dexter’s are known for their gentle temperment & the man said we won’t have any trouble gentling the heifer and getting her used to people & being touched.  Her grandmother was a good milker & I’m looking forward to seeing the pedigree.  We agreed to pick her up by the 23rd (Kristen’s soccer tournament day).  We have 2 1/2 weeks to get a stall enclosed in the barn, the fence finished & a few necessary supplies, like hay, a water trough, a halter, and some kind of feed bin.  OH, and those muck boots!!  

She won’t be old enough to breed until next Spring, and by then Kristen & I will have loved her so much she’ll put up with anything (we have great confidence in our mothering ability!  I actually have great confidence in Kristen’s gift with animals.  They just respond to her.)  So, by next Spring, I’ll have found an AI tech, “straws” for the big deal (and a place to have them stored), and have learned how to determine a standing heat on a first time heifer – don’t you just love homeschooling?  But the benefits down the road!

I do admit to some anxiety last night when Joel told me to just tell the man we would take her. Once I decided, okay, we’re going to do it, I was much better.  (I did have another little anxiety attack on the way home, but just confessed the Word over it.  I woke up in the middle of the night, with some stress over the stall in the barn, etc. and I finally said,  “Devil, Anxiety & Panic, if you don’t leave me right now, I’m going downstairs and sit in the Holy Chair and start to pray!”  I was asleep in 10 minutes & didn’t wake up until the alarm went off.) 

The kids are excited, except for Karra.  She’s not crazy about the Hobby Farm thing anyway & she knows that once we bring a cow home there won’t be anymore family vacations or trips to Michigan for Christmas with all of us.  I may be able to find someone to watch the cow & the chickens for a couple of days, but a big trip would be out.  It’s hard on her, but this is really something to benefit the whole family in the long run – fresh milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, ice cream!, and beef from grass fed animals.   And maybe feeder pigs for the extra milk (not that I’m anticipating too much extra milk!)

We’re going to do a semi-serious look for a companion animal for MollyBelle.  She’s in with the other cows & some sheep right now.  Katahdin sheep – our favorite hair sheep!  Joel said a horse is not a companion unless it’s a mini horse, which does give me ideas . . . . . . . .

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

