Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Hey, Me on a Tuesday!

Hello world! I’d better record the latest before I forget it (nothing earth shaking, just a little nose jarring).

Let’s see.  Sunday, Joel & I went to TSC to look at pasture gates (we got one!).  While we were there, he found a welding helmet which he needs since his old one has disappeared.  He tried it on to make sure it fit & I, knowing nothing of welding helmets, leaned in front of him to look at him.  Not knowing that I was now in front of him instead of beside him, he took the helmet off – right on the bridge of my nose!  I almost cried.  Do you know how heavy that thing is when your husband swings it off his head???  I don’t know if the jolt has helped my allergies or not, but my sinuses don’t seem as stuffy – silver lining time!

And – we’ve been blessed with a rabbit!  No, not Kurt’s birthday bunny (which is quickly approaching being a Christmas rabbit!).  The children’s teacher at church is a magician and quite often brings his rabbits to church for the kids to pet.  Saturday night, he brought a doe & 4 babbies.  Oh, they are so cute!  They are half mini rex & half full size rabbit (the mom was big).  Kristen was just absolutely taken with a little black & white one that they call Scratch (obvious reasons).  Sunday afternoon I get a call from our Life Group leader, Linda, that Mr. Bruce wanted to give her one of the bunnies.  She immediately thought of our kids since she had been in the room when Kristen was fussing over Scratch.  When I said yes we’d love to have one of the bunnies, she called Mr. Bruce & then called me back & as soon as the bunnies are weaned (about 10 days),  Kristen can have Scratch.  She is beside herself and reading Kurt’s bunny care book & all of my homestead information about rabbits & making lists, etc.  It will be good therapy for her to have something soft & cuddly to hold without Karra yelling at her to let go of Catnip.  Kurt is still holding out for his pure white mini rex and I am now in much hotter pursuit of the thing. 

Someone close to us advertized a 1/2 Dexter heifer about 3 weeks ago.  I don’t know if they still have it, but it was the cutest thing.  Now that we have a gate, and a new bunny, I’m finding out about what I need to do to breed my cow BEFORE I get her.  The ladies at Christian Homesteader are so kind.  I giggle everytime I think about asking the question:  How do I breed my cow?  Like I don’t already KNOW how this happens?  But now I know where to go to find what I need & just need to make a few phone calls to find a tech & see if Select Sires will store the “stuff” for me.  I also need to learn what all of those little letters on a pedigree mean!  Who would have ever imagined that I would be researching bull semen (can I say that?)  Okay, Beth & Paula are rolling on the floor now.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

