Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Oh, This and That

Not sure if I’m feeling reflective or just a little rambly right now.  I had my eye dr. appointment this morning & his wife lost her battle with pancreatic cancer.  Terrific guy with 3 little boys.  It’s just heartbreaking.  Sometimes it’s hard to see the rainbow through all of the rain.  It’s things like that and Lauren’s 5 year battle with agressive cancer tumors that put my minor complaints in the gutter.  Honestly, what do I really have to complain about?  So . . .  I won’t!!!

I went into the sewing room on Saturday to start on the girls’ new bedroom curtains & started cleaning instead.  I ended up with a huge bag of fabric to get rid of & tons of scraps very useable for quilting.  It got me thinking about garage sales.  So, I called my friend, Heather, to see if she’s going to have one this summer.  Sure enough – YES!  So, I begged my way in and promised to bring my own table.  Now I have to sort through all of those school books that we haven’t used, aren’t going to use, or will never use again!  The up side is I have a really tidy sewing room right now.  I also have the usual huge pile of projects (but I hid or got rid of most of them!!!).  I have a tote bag I’ve been meaning to make for my Mom for about 10 years!  By the time I get to it she will forget all about reading that last sentence!  I have sleep pants I need to make for Kristen before they go camping in August.  I have cute shorts for Kurt and summer is almost over (the good thing with Kurt is that like Karra, he never gets any bigger around!).  And I bought a new skein of yarn and went to put it away and thought – I can’t wait until knitting season!  The sweater that I wanted to get to a certain point before my vacation so that I could ask my Grandma about it, isn’t anywhere near where I needed it to be – oh, well.

I got to show Joel where I want to put the pasture gates & we talked about the chicken coop & run, etc.  We will eventually (but probably not this winter) put the chickens in a coop in the barn and then keep the one we have for either a summer brooder or for turkeys.  I think we could comfortable house 2 or 3 turkeys in the existing coop.  That would be fun to have our own free range turkey for Thanksgiving!  I need a few more questions answered from my friends at Hobby Farms & we’ll be good.  I’ve been told that, yes, the animals probably will eat the willow trees in the pasture.  RATS!

It looks like there’s a storm coming in from the south.  Kristen is supposed to have a riding lesson in less than an hour.  Hope it’s not tundering by then.

And That’s What’s Happening (Reflectively) on the Homestead.

Comments on: "Oh, This and That" (2)

  1. I need to get started on some sewing projects. I need to gather some fabric. I think I have some in the closet but not sure I’m brave enough to dig for it 🙂 Blessings! ~ Nikki

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

