Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Does anyone remember February?  Remember all of that snow?  Remember the 100 year old snow fall record that was broken here in Ohio?   Remember how COLD it was?  Are you feeling any cooler now?

We went for Kristen’s riding lesson at 2pm and not only has Kristen’s instructor, Zach, left, but the scheduler is gone too.  Poor Jeff  didn’t have our phone number at the barn to call and reschedule because of the heat.  So, Kristen helped to work a horse in the round pen & then hose her off & run the squeegie down her sides.  She was helping Jeff’s son & the guy looked so hot and tired.  They’ve been having horse camp this week & such weather!  So, Kristen got a shortened lesson on horse care in hot weather.  I walked around & petted the horses & just enjoyed the smells in a horse barn.  Ahhhh.

Friday while Joel & his brother took Kristen & one of the cousins 4-wheeling, the rest of us went to the local Indian Caverns.  They were so neat!  And it was nice and cool down there, too.  I really enjoy spelunking on a guided cave tour.  I don’t think I’d want to go looking around by myself!!  Now when we read Tom Sawyer  I’m going to be picturing those caves! 

And then there were the services of Dominion CampMeeting that we were able to attend.  It’s hard to describe all that God is doing in our church right now.  The annointing was so strong during our Life Group last week that I actually marked the chair that people had sat in to be prayed for!  It was just the most amazing thing – this wasn’t a church service with the band & the worship team & the pastor – this was just a group of believers in my living room!  I have had such an incredible period of spirituall growth lately.  God has dealth with me about laziness (like my house?), about forgiveness and bearing with others in their burdens, and how without HIM, I can do nothing.

 And our Life Group!  It is so wonderful to have a church “family”.  You don’t know how much it means to you until you go to a Mega Church & don’t have the close knit group of believers around you.  I am so, so grateful to Pastor Rod for listening to God’s instruction and starting the church at Polaris. 

Lastly, a homestead update – woohoo!  My experimental grass station is actually sprouting some vegetables.  I have my second almost ripe tomato on the vine.  The peppers are drying up & the newly planted corn doesn’t want to sprout, but the vining plants (planted & volunteering) are thriving & one of them even has flowers, though I’m not sure what it is yet!!  My potatoes need one more round of dirt to hill them up & then they’re good (they and the onions also need ALOT of weeding, but it’s too dry to get the weeds out of the clay!).  Our plums are starting to ripen though they are very tiny.  The pears look terrific & I can’t wait until we can pick them!  I may actually have enough to can a few jars.  Our new blueberry bush still has 6 little blueberries on it & the 4 raspberries that survived are looking well.   Karra’s front flower garden looks so pretty.  The annuals have filled in and are really loving the heat and sunshine.  The hollyhocks have lots of flower buds on them, too.  The daylilies that Debbie gave me are mostly white (except for the one yellow one!), so I’ll need to transplant one that I put the in the weed grove up to the house so that they are all white at the house.  I haven’t been too deep in the weeds to see if any of the wild flowers have come up.  I’ll try to plant more in the fall.   My little flock of chickens are not enjoying the heat and I’m only getting 2 or 3 eggs a day.  Hopefully, the heat will send them into a molt long before November’s cool & cold temperatures kick in!   And finally:   Joel told me to figure out where I want the gates so that he can put in some fence posts & get the pasture fence up.  It’s time to get the cow!!!!  I’m so excited that we could really have our Molly by fall.

And That’s What’s Happening on the Homestead!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

