Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Hello Again

Wow, I’m not sure where the last week went, but it sure went!  I’ll do my best to get caught up. 

We’ve had a couple of incredibly funny Kristenisms in the last week.  Let me share!  I was helping her with her phonics and she was learning about dictionary skills.  The assignment was to write the base word that you would look up in the dictionary in order to find the word that also had the prefix or suffix.  The word was “poodles”.  I said, “What is the base word of poodles?”  And she replied with all of the confidence in the world, “Pood!”  I laughed for 20 minutes!  It was the way that she said it more than the actual word that she said.

The second one had to do with the BBQ I made for Life Group last night.  My recipe called for chuck roast, but Kroger had bottom round on sale.  So, I called my Mom to ask if I could use the bottom round instead of the chuck since the recipe simmers forever in a crockpot.  So, I said something like, “the chuck comes from the shoulder & the bottom round is from the rear end.”  Kristen is sitting in the car and says, “We’re eating butt?”  Being on the phone, I missed that, but Karra nearly died.  Since Friday afternoon all they have talked about is the “butt” that we’re having for Life Group.  I finally threatened to hang them if they said it yesterday.  “We’re BBQing a roast!!”

We’re plugging along with school & doing our best.  Karra will finish this week & go to camp for her finale (my little girl is old enough for summer camp with the youth group!) and Kristen will be done next week regardless.  Kurt basically finished 3 weeks ago, I’ve just been dragging him along.  We have some books to finish reading with Mom.  He is reading  The Jungle Book all on his own.  Not the big version, it’s a Classic Children’s Literature version.  I’m floored at how well he is reading.  Karra was reading the Little House books by the end of 1st grade.  Kristen has been plowing through them on her own in the last couple of weeks.  I’m really proud of how much progress she has made in school this year.  I told the Dr. it may not show up on her achievement tests, but I have definitely seen improvement.

The garden is growing in spite of the massive flood it gets nearly every day.  We didn’t get in to pick strawberries yesterday & now it’s raining again.  Kristen & I won’t be going to the metro park today to walk in the rain.  She has swim & a riding lesson, so I’m the one to miss out on exercise today.  Maybe we’ll go tomorrow instead.

That’s all I can remember for now (oh, I found my sewing room on Saturday – under all of the ironing – and actually started a project.  I haven’t finished it yet because I’ve been out of time.  Maybe this afternoon.  It’s a little nightgown for Karra’s Build-A-Bear panda, Yoshi.  And the girls talked me into buying fabric for new curtains for the bedrooms.  Actually, I’ll use one of Krusten’s curtains to do a new one for Karra & add a different valance fabric.  Kristen got the whole new shebang out of me.  She needs something that blocks the afternoon sun better than a white bedsheet.  So, I have that project to look forward to – maybe by August??)

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

