Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I know you haven’t heard from me in over a week.  Well, here’s what happened.  Friday night we went to friend’s to play Euchre & stayed until midnight (with another hour drive home).  We had a great time & Karra got to play, too & she did really well.  Saturday, I ran all day doing the local grocery shopping in the morning & then the Sam’s run in the afternoon.  We went to church Sat. night & wouldn’t you know it, I got sick!  Nothing like loosing your cookies (only it wasn’t cookies!!) at church!  Came home & did it again.  Went to bed & yep, I got up AGAIN.  But, the good news is I got the food poisoning out & after spending a day of rest on the couch Sunday, I was well recovered. 

Kristen, bless her heart, cooked for everyone on Sunday.  I had thawed a venison roast & she chopped veggies & measured spices & I helped her get it into the crockpot.  Then she wanted to make foccachia.  Fine, no problem, she’s done it before.  She put the bread in the oven for the first rise, but she had overheated the oven & the plastic wrap melted right onto the bread!  Joel told her to throw it out & she was crushed.  I gently explained that every cook on earth has ruined something at one time or another and it’s okay to throw it out & start over.  She tossed it away & re-did her foccachia.  It was wonderful!  I should have stuck to one piece, but I had two.

On Monday, it was Karra’s turn to go into the kitchen & bake bread.  She likes to use my bread machine & is strongly campaigning to use the Kitchen Aid.  She made cinnamon raisin bread in the machine & we gobbled it up with eggs & sausage for supper.  Yummy.  Then, yesterday, she wanted pumpernickle bread.  Well, lets just say that it didn’t turn out like the first time she made it.  We had a good giggle about it & I’ll feed it to the chickens.  We’ll try again today.

Last night, I got the information about 4-H and I am so overwhelmed!!  So many dates, classes, forms, decisions and I don’t even have a barn yet!  I know that the first year will be the hardest, but I feel very unprepared with no place to shelter our little lambs.  I was encouraged by the secretary at the dance studio that we really don’t need more than an oversized dog house to give them basic shelter.  Also, Karra’s jazz teacher raised sheep in 4-H for years.  She’s offered to answer questions & give advice.  One of the girls was telling Kristen about the costume class that she can enter.  Mom & her big mouth:  Kristen is going to dress the sheep like peas and she’ll be the pod.  Mom & her big mouth!  Karra decided already that she’d like to do creative writing & photography.  Nice, safe, clean projects!

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

