Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Happy Birthday to Joel!

Life just keeps charging along doesn’t it?  My uh, "next" birthday is only 9 days away.  We’ll talk about Joel’s birthday instead, it’s today!!  Kristen baked him a pumpkin pie this morning.  I’ve never made a pumpkin pie from scratch and had no idea how runny they are when you pour the filling into the shell.  I’m sure we cooked it twice as long as they recommended to get it to set up.  At least the crust doesn’t look burnt.  We’ll serve that up before we go to dance this afternoon.  We went to renew our drivers licenses today (I went with Joel today so that I don’t forget next week.  If I go a week over my birthday, it’s an extra $20!) and then we tried Domino’s new recipe pizza.  It IS an improvement, but it’s no where near Papa John’s!  I do like the garlic butter on the crust, yum!  Then, I like garlic butter on just about anything resembling bread.

Kristen & I cooked the tenderloin from her deer on Saturday.  Oh, was it yummy.  Another Recipezaar recipe.  Marinaded in soy sauce & brown sugar & wrapped in bacon to bake.  4 minutes under the grill to crisp the bacon.  It was sooooooo good.  We’re going to cook the backstrap the same way.

I sat down with the kids over the weekend (Joel, too, but I yelled at him a little) and talked about how little gets done around the house & farm unless Mom does it.  I told them we weren’t going to make any new rules or charts, we were simply going to enforce the rules that were already in place.  Kristen for one took the lecture to heart.  She got up yesterday (guess who overslept?), got dressed, made her bed, took the chickens their corn, fed her cat & brought me coffee in bed.  WOW!  The rest of us did catch up with her.  We got school done, chores done, I only spent 45 minutes on the computer at lunch and then we finished ALL of the school & corrections.  We wrapped up school at 2:45 (way late for our normal lives).  I climbed stairs for 30 minutes, washed 4 loads of laundry and folded 5 loads, did the dishes, loaded the dishwasher, made supper & cleaned up.  I got the Christmas tree stand dumped outside & the needles picked up & everything put away.  I ran the vacuum downstairs and spent over an hour last evening getting the ironing caught up.  That may sound like a typical day for alot of SAHM’s, but that was a lot of work for me!

Today we’re off for Daddy’s birthday & I need to run to JoAnn’s to return some yarn that was the wrong color & go to Michael’s & get the right color.  I was hoping to sew this afternoon, but it doesn’t look like it will happen before dance.  So, I guess I’d better run, so that I get my errands done & have a little crafty time to myself.  I wish I could climb stairs again, but I know my Tuesdays & it will have to wait until tomorrow.

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

