Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Well, Happy New Year, Hobby Farm.

I’ll admit that we’ve been a little neglectfull the last couple of weeks.  Unfortunately, we’ve paid the price.  One of our chickens died last night.  She had been in a molt & I think the stress & the cold were just too much for her.  Even worse, it was Kristen’s chicken, Princess.  She took the news pretty well, and I think that it helped that Joel prefaced the news with "We need to be sure to take care of Johnny (her cat) really well in this cold weather.  Make sure he has water and food."  And then he told her that one of the chickens had died.  She cried of course & I felt so bad, especially since she’d been playing on the ice on the pond & was so happy this morning.  I reminded her that things go wrong sometimes and when they do we need to learn from it & try not to let it happen again.  I guess we’ll be keeping a closer watch on the chickens during the remainder of this cold snap.

On a much happier note:  we had friends from church over yesterday & we played Euchre.  They killed us for two games before we started getting "good" cards.  Joel thinks they may have slacked off on us.  It was so much fun.  I haven’t played Euchre in at least ten years.

Christmas was really, really hectic and that’s why you haven’t heard from me.  I know you’re really interested in my boring New Year’s Resolutions, so I’ll share a couple:  lose 10 pounds and keep it off for the rest of the year (from when I hit the magic 10 lb. mark); my credit card is on a fast until Resurrection and after that the goal is save first, spend second (I think this one also includes a major avoidance of the fabric & craft stores since they seem to get me into TONS of trouble.  I also have so many projects in the sewing room & the crafting bags in the living room, that I don’t need to make any purchases for a long, LONG time!); my biggest goal is to stay focused on WHY we’re homeschooling our kids.  I don’t want ordinary kids that settle for an ordinary life.   I want my kids to know who they are in Christ and I want them to know truth.  Only truth will set them free & give them a truly fulfilled life.  The goal is eternity, not just a college education (although those do come in handy down here on planet earth, they are not the end result that we seek).  So, I resolve; I settle; and I press on.  The race is not to the swift, but to the diligent.

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Comments on: "Not the Way We Wanted to Start the New Year" (1)

  1. HopefulHeart77 said:

    I think those are very worth goals for your children. They need to know why they believe what they believe and know how to defend their faith. It is a hard world out there.
    I am like you. I have enough sewing to keep me busy until Spring. So no fabric stores for awhile!
    Many blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

