Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Stupid Chickens

Stupid, stupid chickens.  I took the kids to town last night to get Kurt’s socks & shin guards for soccer & to order dance shoes & leotard for Karra.  We met up with the honey lady & now have a nice big jar of sticky nectar. 

We finally made our way back home & were exiting the car when the neighbor called over that one of our chickens was in their yard.  Yes, this is the side of the yard that has a fence.  I’m thinking how in the world did the chicken get through the fence?  I waded through Joel’s weeds to the fence & toward the back of the property & sure enough, there’s one of our chickens.  I walked through the entire back fence line of weeds (Kristen came & joined me & I’m so glad).  I’m almost past the pond & there is another chicken.  Kristen & I go around the unfinished end (the fence has to be run around huge trees on the property line) and back through the neck high weeds toward the neighbor.  I catch the chicken in back, it’s Sarah, & put her over the fence.  We get to the neighbor’s & skirt the electric fence & chase down our wayward chicken.  I’m so glad Kristen was with me because I don’t think I could have caught Princess on my own – stupid chicken.  She was getting a little trippy because she had bounced off the electric fence a couple of times.  Stupid chicken.  We had a nice chat with the neighbors of the glorious garden.  In the nine years we’ve lived here, I had never met the Mrs.  She was so nice & chatty.  They’re both quite concerned that their dog will get one of our birds (which it would deserve after jumping the electric fence).  She said that she saw the chicken the same time that Maggie (their dog) did & grabbed hold of the dog.  We told them we would bring over some eggs today – of course it’s boiling outside right now.

I just had to pass that along in case someone needed a good laugh – especially the sight of Kristen & I wading through neck high weeds grumbling about getting poison ivy.  Stupid chickens.  If they do it again tonight, I think I’ll FEED them the poison ivy!

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Comments on: "Stupid Chickens" (2)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Chickens are stupid, stupid birds. I have 34 of them, and I have 34 accounts of stupidity on a daily basis.

  2. LOL

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

