Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Chocolate-Zucchini Bread

Yes, you read that right – CHOCOLATE-Zucchini Bread.  I got this recipe from one of those send-you-a-new-packet-of-recipes-every-month clubs that cost a fortune by the time the book/box is full.  This one was Healthy Meals in Minutes.  I ended up keeping about a dozen of the recipes & getting rid of the rest (of course).  Anyway, 224 calories per slice & oh, so yummy.

Chocolate-Zucchini Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspon baking soda

1 cup nonfat buttermilk

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup margarine, melted

1 large egg

1 large egg white

1 small zucchini, peeled and shredded (about 1 cup)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

For crumb topping

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3 tablespoons chilled margarine

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray a 9×5 loaf pan with vegetable cooking spray.  Prepare crumb mixture in a small bowl, mixing sugar and cocoa.  Cut in margarine until coarse crumbs form.  Reserve 2 tablespoons.

2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Mix well.  In a medium bowl, combine buttermilk, sugar, applesauce, margarine, egg, and egg white.  Mix well.  Add egg mixture to flour mixture, stirring until just combined.  Stir in zucchini and walnuts.

3. Pour half of batter into prepared pan.  Sprinkle crumb mixture over batter.  Pour remaining batter on top.  Sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture.

4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 55 minutes.  Turn bread out onto rack and cool.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

