Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Monday!!!

Well, the ditz got into the kitchen yesterday and tried to smoke the family out.  Put some brown & serve sausages in my favorite little Visions pan then went upstairs to get dressed *real quick*.  Not every trip to the little girls room is *real quick* & by the time the ditz remembered the sausages, they were little black smokey links & the kitchen, bathroom & laundry room stank to high heaven.  Took the little pan outside & it burned my pot holder (I guess that’s better than a big scorch mark on the deck rail).  Took the burning hot little pan and set it down on a prickly weed growing in the driveway.  Boy does that prickly weed look scorched & sad today!  Anyway, we opened all of the windows and the front & deck doors & let the wind and flies blow through the house all morning.  I don’t think we closed up until after 1pm.  The ditz is NOT allowed back in my kitchen ever again!

I decided to deal with the cucumbers yesterday.  So, I’m reading the recipe that my Mom gave me for sweet pickle slices.  Oh, good grief, I need 16 cups of sliced cukes & 7 1/3 cups of cider vinegar.  I only have part of a 2 qt. bottle of cv, so I run off to the store to get the cider vinegar.  End up on the phone with my Mom while I’m at Walmart talking about fruit pectin & why does the low sugar pectin have sodium in it?  Get home, do some other things & decide okay, cucumbers.  Wouldn’t you know, I don’t have the whole spices that I need!  I had just put the stew on the stove to reheat, so I grab Kristen to go back to Walmart (she’ll keep me on track so I don’t get distracted) and tell Karra to stir the stew.  We came home with the spices (and a loaf of French bread to go with the stew) to find the stew bubbling merrily on the stove & stuck to the bottom of the pan.  Not burned, but getting close.  I never did deal with the cucumbers.  I also avoided the garden.

I’m signing off now to go finish the laundry, visit the garden & deal with the cucumbers.  Oh, we did have a really yummy cuke salad for dinner. 

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

