Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

2-for-1 Pasta Primavera

Let’s try this AGAIN!  I made this recipe on Monday and it is scrumptious!  It’s from the August 4, 2009 issue of Woman’s Day magazine.  And it uses zucchini & summer squash which I currently have in abundance!

2-for-1 Pasta Primavera

1 box (14 oz.) whole-wheat penne pasta

2 Tbsp. olive oil

11/2 lb. zucchini, quartered lengthwise, sliced crosswise

1/2 lb. yellow summer squash, quartered lengthwise, sliced crosswise

1 Tbsp. minced garlic

1 box (9 oz.) frozen peas

1 can (14 1/2 oz.) reduced-sodium chicken broth

12 oz. plum tomatoes, copped

Serve with:  grated Parmesan and crushed black pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Add pasta and cook as package directs; drain pasta and return to pot.

Meanwhile, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet.  Add zucchini and yellow squash; cook, stirring often, over medium-high heat 5 minuts or until crisp-tender.

Add garlic and peas; cook 1 minute or until fragrant.  Stir in broth and bring to a simmer.

Pour vegetable mixture over pasta.  Add tomatoes; toss to mix and coat.  Sprinkle with Parmesan and pepper.

Refrigerate leftovers for up to 2 days and serve cold with Italian dressing.

This recipe makes a TON.  I will definitely cut it in half the next time I make it, but if you are serving a crowd, this is a good recipe.  I didn’t have any penne, so I used a mix of rotini & medium shells and substituted grape tomatoes for the plum tomatoes.  My only regret is how much I have left over that will probably be fed to the chickens, although, they love tomatoes and peas and seem to think that pasta is a good treat.

Comments on: "2-for-1 Pasta Primavera" (3)

  1. rildapeel1 said:

    Sounds good my dear, You did a great job on posting the recipe. Thank You so much!! blessings, rilda *U*

  2. Fletcher said:

    you are so welcome – enjoy!

  3. simpleoldgurl said:

    Happened by, and saw this category, and just HAD to find out what was in it! I like the recipes, and thank you sharing…I am def going to try that pasta one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

