Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Not Much

I know ya’ll are just dyin’ for an update from us.  Well – there’s not much goin’ on!

The kids & I went to the dentist on Monday and got our hair cut.  Kurt has an eruption cyst where one of his molars is supposed to come in & got to have a bunch of x-rays.  That was cool.  I cut bangs again & of course, had Telisa cut them too short – at least they grow.  Kristen learned her multiplication facts in 1 30 minute and 1 45 minute session with Times Tales.  BEST money I have spent on their education!  Karra has a math lesson that she actually understands.  We have 13 days of our "school year" left.  I know, I know, we’re schooling year round, but we just need a break right now.  It will be nice to have a few weeks off.

We bought our front gate yesterday & we’re looking forward to getting it installed.  We’ve had a few strawberries from the garden, but not enough this year to do anything but eat as we pick.  I’ll have to take the kids picking so that we can have shortcake & make some jam.  Can’t always rely on Mom for my strawberry jam – although she has LOTS more time than I do!  Our tomato plants look good & as usual any pepper plants I put in the ground refuse to grow bigger than when I planted them.  Melons & squash plants are coming up.  I counted 79 stalks of corn poking through the ground & 2/3 of Kurt’s sunflower forest has sprouted.  I think I see the carrots pushing tiny feathers out of the ground.  My potato plants are big & I’m afraid that I’m not hilling them up enough this year.  I’ve always over hilled in the past.  Oh, well.

Joel & the kids started their camping pile (that’s the giant mess on the floor that takes over my living room for a MONTH before they go camping).  He had the decency to put the mess on a table this year.  Yesterday we came home from lunch & a movie to find Kristen & Kurt had cleared the table, piled up all of the blankets & pillows from the couch and their bedrooms, and were leaping off of the table onto the landing zone.  Good grief.

Joel & I had a date yesterday – lunch at Chipotle and a matinee of Terminator Salvation.  Not a bad movie.  Then we went to Sam’s and came home & then went to the farm store to look for our gate.  The store in Delaware had the rabbit hutch I want for Kurt, but it’s too pricey.  We’ll settle for a plain wire cage on a leg kit & keep the bunny in the basement.  One of Karra’s new responsibilites will be teaching Kurt how to take care of his rabbit (not that I’m ready to get a rabbit, even if Kurt thinks that HE is).

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

