Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Well, we got some more things into the garden yesterday.  Kristen helped me plant the seedlings.  We broke the stems on all but one of the climbing tomatoes – the one we didn’t kill doesn’t look very happy.  We planted one regular tomato (need a couple more), 3 grape tomatoes (2 for us, 1 for the chickens), 3 jalapeno pepper plants (for Joel & making salsa), and two bell peppers (need a couple more).  We put in the broccoli & cauliflower plants that looked the best.  We did get the rest of the garden hoed and raked so that it’s ready to take seeds today.  All of the melons, squash, and cucumbers need to be planted.  Joel’s right:  I do need a bigger garden.  You’re supposed to plant melons so far apart that we could fill our whole garden with just melons and squash!  Of course, right now the strawberries are taking up a large portion of my garden.  Next year, the strawberries will be in the borders.  I’ve got all summer to place cinder blocks and put in new soil.

Karra & I went junking this morning.   I found a beautiful ceramic nativity for my Mom for her collection.  I can’t wait to give it to her!!  I bought two gorgeous little tea cups & saucers with lily of the valley on them.  I just LOVE lily of the valley.  They were the first flower that I liked and I even had them in my wedding flowers.  Karra got some beads for jewelry making & a nice hooded down vest.  She was given a fiber optic light with flowers in it at a sale where we bought some puzzles and popsicle makers (Kristen has been after me to buy some).  I found a couple of books and a nice Land’s End sweater for Kurt (for $.50).  Karra made me pass up a $5 cabinet that needed new hardware (I didn’t like what was on it) and a fresh coat of paint.  I’m kicking myself.  It would have worked in the school/dining room and later in the bonus room (which will be her college apartment!).

Bet your wishing I’d get to the baby part.  Well, it’s NOT mine!  We found free kittens and Karra spent 45 minutes of the people’s time trying to make up her mind.  I finally told her, "this one", and home came Catnip.  He’s gray and white and very talkative.  I love talkative cats.  He’s settling into the basement pretty well.  We’ll have to get him to the vet & schedule his surgery (Karra thinks he’s a she, but it really doesn’t matter now, does it?).  We have a cat again – all’s right with her world.  Now, if I could just get Karra to blog about it!

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

