Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Our First Farm Crisis

I survived our first farm crisis.  Won’t my Mommy be so proud of me!!

It wasn’t anything major, but it was a crisis for me.  Our Alpha chicken, Wiggles, was pecking our Zeta chicken, Princess.  Princess had a round, bloody gouge on her leg.  I don’t have an isolation pen for a single chicken, so I went ahead and let them into the run even though it was only 28 degrees.  I figured that would give Wiggles something else to do and Princess somewhere else to run.  Wiggles is a very obnoxious chicken and since she was picking on Kristen’s chicken, Kristen decided that Wiggles would make a good stew!  This happened at 10am on Friday.  Karra had gone to check for eggs and came in to report that Wiggles was pecking someone and had blood on her beak.  I had no make-up on and was trying to teach an English lesson that desperately needed to be learned.  At 11am Kristen & I headed to the feed store for No-Peck.

The more I go to the feed store in Plain City, the more I like them.  Was their cracked corn cheaper than TSC?  Not really, but the nice guy loaded it in the van for me – hey, that’s service!  Anyway, the lady that helped me find the bottle of No-Peck, told me that a local poultry farmer told her that he mixes fish meal in with the chickens feed to prevent cannabalism.  I thought WOW!  I did some checking with other knowledgeable sources and was told that it adds protein to their diet.  Sometimes they need extra protein at this time of year when they haven’t had bugs all winter and their going into a molt.  Of course, those things are going on.  They’ve been stuck in the coop all winter and it’s not quite warm enough for lots of bugs.  I threw them some of Johnny’s cat food and have let them out to range this weekend.  I also took some of the straw bales away from the North side of the coop to give them more of a view of the driveway and front yard.  Princess’ leg is looking good and I avoided a panic attack.

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

