Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Laundry Soap and Puppy Dogs

One of the things that I accomplished on my busy Saturday was making some laundry soap.  I’d gone back to using Tide and though it keeps my undies really bright white, it makes my towels stink when they’re wet.  I can’t stand to wipe the counter with the dish rag and then for what ever reason bring my hand close to my face & pass out from the rotten/moldy stink smell.  Eeewwww!!!  That’s on my kitchen counter!  I change my kitchen rag everyday, but it still smells awful when I use Tide for my laundry.  So, now I have a 4 gallon tub of fresh, homemade laundry soap that smells just faintly of Fels Naptha.  No more stinky kitchen rags (or wash clothes on the bathroom sink).  I like admiring the glistening goo in the kitty litter tub – it makes me feel so domestic.  (Anyone still wondering if I’ve gone off the deep end?)

One of the books that Karra brought home from the library a few weeks ago was a Dog Encyclopedia.  We think we have found our dream farm dog:  A Canaan Dog.  Oh, they’re beautiful!!!  Very intelligent looking (important to Joel), medium sized, short haired, and their natural use is a herding/guarding dog.  Karra & I googled this morning and found a breeder in Cincinnati.  Of course, at the library this morning, we found a picture of Blue Heeler/Border Collie puppies.  We could always get one of each.  I have my heart set on a female dog that I’m going to name Tessa.  Joel thinks that since it will be a strictly outdoor dog, we should get two.  Karra thinks we should name a second Canaan dog, Jacob.  Tessa & Jacob.  I like Tessa & Jake.  Since, we have no dog now & will not be getting one until we have work for it to do and a fenced in property for it to guard, it is all pure speculation.  But someday we will have a Tessa on the hobby farm.

I went out to tend the chickens this morning & thought I saw racoon tracks by Joel’s car and at the chicken pen – even under it.  I couldn’t figure out how a racoon would have gotten through the fence since it’s 2"x4" squares.  When Karra went out to see the tracks, she said, "Hey, Mom.  Those are junco tracks."  Well, that explains how it got into the chicken pen.  Tiny little bird with great big feet!

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Comments on: "Laundry Soap and Puppy Dogs" (2)

  1. I don't think you've gone over the deep end. I've never cared for Tide either – I always use Gain for a lot of the reasons you mentioned. I haven't yet made any home made soap but that is high on my to do list – I have a recipe just need to do it. Maybe this coming weekend.

  2. Go for it! I was surprised how easy it is. My kids grate the soap for me; they think it's fun:)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

