Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Oh, me, oh, my, it’s actually snowing here!!  Sort of looks like Michigan early in the snow season (before it starts accumulating in feet instead of inches)!

Wow, lots to report here on the homestead.  On Monday, I put a chicken in the crockpot for supper (no, not one of our girls!).  Karra peeled an onion to put in the cavity and paid close attention to what I was doing.  She said, "Hey, this was fun.  We should have more cooking sessions." (The thud was me fainting.  Pick me up off the floor for later).  Later in the day, she made bread for me.  Karra wanted to help finish supper, so she mixed the cornbread and put it into the oven.  Kristen wanted in on the act, so she got to smash the potatoes with butter & milk while Karra made the gravy.  Dinner was ready for the table about 10 minutes after Joel got home.  He declared the dinner good.  A joint effort; 3 cooks in the kitchen; 1 of them was actually Karra.  (She asked for potato soup on Thursday and wants to help.  I don’t have any more beer bread mix – or beer, thanks Debbie 🙂 – so I’m going to have her make saurkraut rye bread.  She’ll fry bacon, dice & cook potatoes and measure all ingredients.  I get to stand by and help her follow the recipe.  We’re both excited.)

I didn’ t get very interested in cooking until I was much older and actually had to do it.  I haven’t push Karra too much based on my own kitchen inexperience.  It is nice to see her come around and want to try.  Kristen, I can already turn loose in the kitchen and the results are quite good.

The kids have been playing outside in the snow and enjoying themselves immensely!!  They went out today in the 19 degrees for about 45 minutes.  I remembered to vaseline Kristen & Kurt, but Kristen’s cheeks were still very, very red when she came in.  She wrapped her scarf around her face when she came in (we need to remember when she goes OUT, I know, I know!) and she’s fine.

My chickens have been cooped up (yes, I know) for days now.  We opened the little door Sunday & Monday, but they just squacked at the snow & ice.  It gave them some fresh air for a few hours anyway.  They won’t be seeing the snow out their little door for at least a week when the temps are supposed to get back above freezing.  I hate having them in and am determined to give them some sort of greenhouse run for next winter.  It’s the convincing of Joel that I’m up against.  He’s agreed to a covered winter run; I just have to figure out how to make that into a mini-greenhouse that we can grow tomatoes in all winter – or at least broccoli & peas.  There I go, dreaming again.

Speaking of dreaming.  Karra & I were looking at pictures of lambs on Homesteading Today.  Oh, they are soooo cute!  I want to have babies.  But there is no way Karra will grow sheep for meat.  Wonder how to trick her on that one?

One last thing:  Kristen funny:  We were studying the endocrince system this morning for science & she said, "I know what the pancrease is!!  That’s when you grease the pan!!!"

And that’s what’s happening on the homestead.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

