Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Cooking apples

We actually accomplished school today in an orderly fashion.  Okay, we didn’t do science again and I haven’t done read alouds with Karra (and we’re at an exciting part in the book, too), but seatwork was done and the kids had lots of PE time in the beautiful late Indian Summer weather.  Kurt & Kristen dug a  moat in the middle of the garden & built a fort.  They shooed the chickens out (poor birds only wanted the bugs they could dig up) and did fill in the holes when they were done.

Speaking of the chickens, they ate a milkweed pod last night.  One of them kept standing in the yard like a statue.  She finally made it to the coop for the night & seems fine today.  There is a strange smell in the coop today.  I wonder if it’s toxic milkweed poo?  There was also the chicken that layed the shell-less egg last night.  I scooped the mess out from under her and wonder if based on smell, I didn’t get it all.  Silly bird, the egg goes IN the shell!

I used my new apple peeler/corer/slicer to put all of the baking apples into my new crockpot to make applesauce.  The 7 qt. cooker is heaped way up high!!   I poured 2 cups of apple cider over it & may add a little more tomorrow after things cook down some.  I still had apple butter from last year and Kurt eats so much applesauce that I thought I’d make sauce this year.  He’s very excited about helping to put it into the jars.

I received so much encouragement yesterday after my gloomy report and a plea for prayers over on Sonlight.  I was encouraged to think of 5 things that I was thankful for.  I’ll go over and retrieve my list and share it with you in the next few days.  I admit that it took me some time just to come up with 3 things, but then I forced myself to keep thinking and ended with 10.  And as my friend, Beth, reminded me:  I’ve read the back of The Book and WE WIN!!

Have a blessed evening and enjoy the wonderful weather because it’s a changin’ tomorry!!   TTFN

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

