Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Wow, I can’t believe how long I’ve waited to tell you about Kurt’s last soccer game.  He had an assist!!!!!!  The shot was there, but he passed off.  The coach was really impressed.  The truth is, he kicks with the OUTside of his foot, instead of the INside, so of course it looked like a pass.  We were so proud of his progress in just two months.  He was much more willing to get into the mix and go for the ball than he was at the beginning (you know, back when he practiced jumping over the white lines and making sure Shadow was still with him).  We told him that he can play spring soccer even though it overlaps the girls dance recital.

Joel made it home alive and well Friday and we’ve worked him to death ever since.  First we had the soccer game and then a pizza party Saturday morning.  Then he and I went and bought a truck load of fence posts (yippee) and then he fixed the temperature sensor ont he heat pump so that the furnace knows that it’s cold outside and it’s supposed to turn on.  Then after his Sunday afternoon nap he decided to fix the leak from the washing machine.  Well, he needed parts and got to Home Depot to find out they were already closed.  He did what he could so that we could have water and then came home very late on Monday with parts.  He promptly broke a part (9:30pm) and got the rest of the evening off.  Last night I got my washer back and so far no leaks (3 loads later – 3 to go today).  He said absolutely not will he tear into the dishwasher tonight so that I can order parts.  I think he’s running away this weekend.

I got lots of advice about winterizing my chickens and it was all good.  No heater, freezing temps and they’re still happy little girls.  We’re down to 3 eggs a day, but I don’t think I’d be very productive in this cold either.  Besides, 3 is much more manageable than 6!  Look out springtime!

Monday, we went with our homeschool group to Young’s Jersey Dairy Farm in Yellow Springs.  It was so much fun.  We watched a movie about the history of the farm and how they make their ice cream.  We took a wagon ride and got to pick out little pumpkins.  We went through the petting barn and they had a chicken just like ours!  We got to see ducks and pet the calf and they had a sheep.  Then everyone got to feed the goats.  What a big hit!  We got free ice cream and went to the Golden Jersey Inn for a yummy lunch.  It was a nice drive (a little over an hour) to a part of Ohio that we don’t visit very much.  It made for a fun day and a chance to get to know some of the members of our group a little better.  I’m not terribly pushy about getting into groups and these folks all seem to know each other!  But they’re friendly and welcoming and the kids are well behaved (mostly.  Karra could have killed someone’s son for chasing the cats and kittens that she wanted to cuddle).

I guess I’d better make sure that Kristen’s schoolwork gets done and I’m sure Karra would like to read with me.  TTFN

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

