Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

I knew we were considered a flyover state and last Sunday EVERYTHING flew over alright!  The center of what was left of then Tropical Depression Ike took dead aim on Ohio last Sunday.  Did anyone outside of Ohio hear about it on the news?  Somehow, I doubt it.  Didn’t make any national news that I’m aware of.  Venting over.

When I said in my last post that I was sure that something exciting would happen over the weekend this was NOT what I meant!

We spent 6 days without power except for the generator.  It was enough to keep our food from spoiling and to keep us clean if not squeaky.  I honestly don’t know where to start to relate the adventure.

I guess I’ll start by being grateful.  At last we HAVE a generator and could afford to run it.  Our 6 days of inconvenience in no way, shape or form compares to the suffering of the people hit by Hurricane Ike.  Those people are looking at 6 WEEKS without power and water and that’s IF they have a home to go back to.  We are blessed and we were able to see that even in the middle of our trial.

The flower beds never did get dealt with.  It never rained.  My parents in Michigan got flooding rains for 4 days, but we got nary a drop.  As Kristen’s birthday party approaches we still have flower beds covered with chicken litter that need to be tilled.  It takes a backseat to the shingles on the roof that still need to be repaired (Joel has most of it done), the garage door opener that has to be fixed (someone forgot that it was locked manually and hit the button – who could THAT have been, I wonder?), the yard that needs mowing, the garden weeds that need tilling in (not to mention the weeds that need to be pulled so that I can find the strawberry plants and attempt to put them into sensible rows). 

I will try to give a few updates this week relating some of our experiences during the "State of Emergency" (that’s what the local news has called it).  And an egg report.  Here’s the first:  On Thurs. and Fri., the roosters gave us 4 eggs each day!!

Have a blessed Sabbath.  TTFN

Comments on: "And Then Hurricane Ike Blew Through Ohio" (3)

  1. stitchnchick said:

    It was a terrible storm! Some of the folks in our area just had power restored today. My husband has been working with the EMA all week trying to help our area. We had some damage to our barn, but our home was spared (other than some trees down). We live in a woods, so it was pretty scary and we evacuated to my sister's home. Oh, and I guess it was on CNN…my Aunt in TX saw it. Glad that your power is back!

    Amy

  2. We live in northern ky and we felt the wind too! It is nice that things are sort of back to normal:)

    Ma

  3. I'm glad your safe as well. I spoke with my in-laws last night and they had record floods. My FIL emptied his boat 3 times I think he said and the last time it was almost overflowing. That's a TON of rain. I really feel for the folks in TX that got wind AND the rain.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

