Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Home from vacation

We’re home!  What a great vaction.

My Mom & I took the kids to Dowagiac (Doe-Wah-Jack, old Indian name) to visit Caruso’s.  It’s an old soda and candy shop that my Mom & her friends used to hang out at when they were kids.  We had yummy desserts and looked at all of the nostalgic photos.  My Mom remembers the original owners, immigrants from Italy.

We took the kids to Lake Michigan and Kurt and Kristen dug holes in the sand and played in the water.  The weather was beautiful the entire week, but a little on the cool side for lots of playing in the lake.

The highlight of the week was the Berrien County Youth Fair.  My niece, Stepfanie, won a Reserve and a Grand Champion with her llama, Dominick.  Oh, he is soooo handsome!  She also won a Reserve Champion for her turkey and sold it at auction for $200.  She had the Grand Champion doe & litter for rabbits.  The cutest rabbits I have ever seen!!  We spent all day at the fair and Kristen got to watch horse jumping!  7th heaven!  We didn’t see any of the western events this year, but we looked at all 7 of the horse barns – or were there 12?

We had intended to can peaches on Friday, but when I went and bought them and brought them home, they were still green!  So, we made some jam and brought the rest of the peaches home.  I may or may not can them.  I may just make peach cobblers and enjoy lots of fresh fruit.  Last year the peaches were over-ripe when we got to them so this year we waited to buy them.  Oh, well, you live and you learn!  We did bring home a cooler full of blueberries and black raspberries.  And a second cooler from Joel’s Dad full of fish.  I love Michigan!

Joel, the chickens, the cats and fish survived our vaction.  He was very glad to return the animal care to those of us that do care.  I harvested my carrots and dug a few more potatoes when I got home.  I think the corn is ready, but I need to double check with my Mom.  Since my corn’s never grown before, I’m not sure when it’s ready to be picked.  In a few more weeks we will be eating cantaloupe for every meal.

My friend, Beth, said that she still has the e-mail where I disclosed the embarrassing disaster of getting the chickens.  She’ll e-mail it back to me and I will post it on-line (minus any personal/family notes).  It’s good to be home.   TTFN

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

