Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Well, I knew when I started a blog that the chances of me actually keeping up with it were pretty slim.  If only I could get myself that slim!!   I have decided to try to forge valiantly on in the blog-o-sphere.  So, without further ado, I give you the current happenings at the Happy Palace Homestead. . . . .

I have had gardening success!!  My potatoes don’t seem to have grown as well as I had planned, but if I can find seed potatoes at this time of year, I’ll shoot for a second crop.  We’re going to let the broccoli keep trying to form a head.  I have ears on my corn stalks for the first time in 4 years!!  I am so excited.  We have cucumbers and tomatoes and carrots and onions.  Two very cute little cantaloupe have shown their round, green faces and the 14 strawberry plants that my Dad gave me in the spring are sending runners all OVER the garden.

Joel has corner posts at the back of the property and one front corner.  He has all wooden posts needed put in at the back and the three large ones on the side.  He’ll get the smaller ones in on the side and then we need to buy t-posts.  Definitely by fall we will have wire up at the back of the property and between us and the neighbors with the glorious garden.

And in the process of clearing the property line and trading a few chops and trenches with the neighbor, it appears that my darling has made an effort to "mend fences" with said neighbor.  Joel offered the use of his post hole digger for their current building (they had just rented one the night before) and explained what we’re up to.  They said they’d enjoy some eggs when our hens start laying (I’m assuming he OFFERED them!  So, Karra is excited because now she can talk to the neighbor about birds (they have lots of houses and feeders) and I’m excited because my darling went out of his way to be nice to someone he hasn’t always been nice to.  I don’t think they’ll be bosom buddies, but some of the awkwardness has been removed. 

And once the fence is up we can let the chickens free range a little more.  Joel has started freeing them for a short time right before bedtime.  He had 5 of the 6 out of the pen last night.  I have trouble watching my chickies be turned loose.  Since the neighbors are okay with our animal adventures, we may get a rooster after all.

I’d better close this out for now, but I do promise to share the adventure of when the chickens came to live with us.  It’s embarrassing for me, but I’m so proud of my kids.  TTFN

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Bear Creek Felting

Needle Felted Art and DIY needle felting kits by fiber artist Teresa Perleberg

iDecorganize You

by Eve Alice

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Mrs K's Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

bonniesbitsandpiece

thoughts about life

His Ladies In Waiting

We are loved, chosen, beautiful and free.

The Prairie Homestead

Psalm 27:4 "One thing have I desired; that will I seek after. That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life."

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

journeytotheson

Just another WordPress.com site

